Skip to content ↓
St Edmund's Catholic Primary School and Nursery

St Edmund's Catholic Primary School and Nursery

Parish, Family, School

About the Governing Body

St Edmund’s Catholic Primary School is a Voluntary Aided school and its Governing Body consists of both appointed and elected governors.

Foundation Governors: 
Foundation governors at the school represent the interests of the Diocese of Westminster who are trustees of the school. Foundation Governors are appointed in the name of the Archbishop and form the majority of the governing body. They have a legal duty to preserve and develop the Catholic character of the school and to ensure that the school is conducted in accordance with its trust deed. There are seven foundation governors and one foundation governor vacancy at St. Edmund’s:

  • Mrs Deb Long (Co-Chair)
  • Mrs Hazel Taylor (Vice Chair)
  • Fr Nigel Griffin
  • Ms Domini Bingham
  • Mr Sean Carey
  • Mr Sean McAlinden
  • Mrs Susan Sparkes

Parent Governors
Parents of pupils registered at the school are eligible to stand for election as a parent governor. They are elected by other parents at the school. The school has two elected parent governors and we have one parent governor vacancy:

  • Mr Louis Harrison
  • Mrs Clare Jones (Co-Chair)

Staff Governors
The Headteacher is automatically eligible to be a full member of the governing body by virtue of the office. Headteachers have the choice of being a governor. Both teaching and support staff who are paid to work at the school are eligible to stand as staff governors. They are elected by other members of staff at the school. The school has one elected staff governor:

  • Mr Fearghal Nash

Local Authority Governors
The Local Authority governor is recommended by the LBRUT and appointed by the Governing Body. Our LA governor is:

  • Mr Guy Elliott

Associate Members
Associate Members are appointed by the Governing Body where they have particular skills that are required in Committee and where they can be given voting rights. They can also attend Governing Body meetings where they do not have voting rights. Our Associate Members are: 

  • Mrs Brenda Green (Deputy Headteacher)
  • Mrs Bob King


  • Mrs Carmel Moreland (Headteacher)

Governors generally hold their office for a period of four years at a time. During this time they are expected to attend training courses and briefings on a comprehensive range of topics provided by AfC Ltd and the Diocese of Westminster. Governors provide challenge and support with a focus on three core strategic

  1.  Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2.  Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.”

Meetings of the Full Governing Body are held at least once a term. The Governing Body also has committees and working parties:

Committee Members 

Curriculum & Achievement Committee Resources Committee 
Mr Sean McAlinden - Chair Mr Guy Elliott - Chair
Mrs Domini Bingham Mrs Brenda Green 
Mr Sean Carey  Mr Louis Harrison
Mr Guy Elliott Mrs Deb Long 
Mrs Brenda Green Mr Sean McAlinden 
Fr Nigel Griffin Mrs Carmel Moreland
Mr Louis Harrison  Mrs Susan Sparkes 
Mrs Clare Jones  
Mrs Deb Long   
Mrs Carmel Moreland  
Mr Fearghal Nash  
Mrs Hazel Taylor  


Admissions & Appeals Committee Pay & Personnel Performance Management of the Headteacher
Mr Sean Carey - Chair  Mrs Clare Jones - Chair  Mrs Deb Long - Chair
Mr Bob King  Mrs Brenda Green  Mrs Clare Jones
Mrs Deb Long Mrs Deb Long  Mrs Hazel Taylor 
Mrs Brenda Green Mrs Susan Sparkes  Mrs Domini Bingham
Mrs Carmel Moreland Mrs Hazel Taylor  
  Mrs Carmel Moreland  

Correspondence for the governors may be addressed to the Clerk to the Governing Body at the school. The clerk is Mrs Gaynor Nicholl.