Skip to content ↓
St Edmund's Catholic Primary School and Nursery

St Edmund's Catholic Primary School and Nursery

Parish, Family, School

Reception Curriculum

The EYFS curriculum is planned around the statements and Early Learning Goals set out in ‘Development Matters’, revised in 2012 and 2014. This document clearly identifies how and what children should learn to support their healthy development up to the age of five. The seven areas of learning and development are;

Prime Areas:

  • Personal and Social Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

St Edmund’s is an inclusive school where great emphasis is placed on our children being happy, confident and independent learners who explore the seven areas of learning at their own pace. Children learn specific skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through teacher focused activities that are carefully planned to meet the unique needs of each child. We regularly and carefully monitor individual progress and provide opportunities to full fill each child’s potential.

Our highly experienced staff place equal importance on children leading their own learning through investigation and exploration. In these situations children are supported to practice and develop what they have learnt in less formal ‘play’ situations that reflect the child’s interests. These opportunities enable children to be active, creative and to think critically by solving everyday problems and also enable staff to facilitate children’s further understanding both indoors and outside.

Please click here to view our Autumn medium term plan.